Olive Gardens Lobster Cannelloni with Shrimp

Olive Garden have new specials that come around every so often. This time, they have their 2 for $25 that features many dishes that are not on the menu year round. However, the Lobster Cannelloni is not part of that. Sadly.

I have always loved lobster. Since I was a wee child, I would eat lobster when I could (and would make myself sick off the amount of lobster I’d eat…). However, as we all know, lobster cost quite a bit of money. Normally, you can buy two tails at walmart for about $20 or a 1 1/2lb chick for $14ish dollars. That’s a lot when you only make just enough to cover bills and food.

So today, after work, I decided to splurge a little and bought lunch for Kelvin and me. He’s a simple man and is fine with the grilled chicken alfredo that I bought for him. I was nice and decided that I’ll split mine with him. I ordered it to-go and hurried home to have a late lunch/early dinner with my beau.

The Lobster Cannelloni comes with two filled cannelloni, about an ounce of cut mushrooms, a handful of shrimp (10 if you want to be technical), and a few pieces of spinach that has been wilted on top. Olive gardens description states:

Lobster, shrimp and mascarpone cheese-filled cannelloni in a creamy seafood sauce, topped with shrimp, mushrooms and spinach.

It seems like a little portion. I was actually kind of sad when I only saw two cannelloni. That is, until I took a bite.

I was very impressed by this dish. The lobster flavor punched through the most. I only say that because there are some dishes that say “oooh look, we have lObStEr in our dish” but when you actually eat it, it’s nowhere to be found.

But that’s when I bit into it. That one large piece of unblended lobster claw/tail meat just peeking out of the cannelloni. I turned to Kelvin and showed him, “Babe! Look, actual lobster!”

He wasn’t as excited as I was.

Long story short, it was an excellent dish. I’m not sure how Kelvin found out about it. (Other than, “it’s good”)

Look at this lobster.

Recommend: Sweet Jesus, yes!
Flavor: 5/5
Price: $20
Filling: Very

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

